February 26, 2024

Governor Janet Mills has requested a major disaster declaration from the federal government for 10 Maine counties that were hit by a powerful storm and flooding in December. She has also asked for individual assistance for people affected in Androscoggin, Franklin, Kennebec, Oxford, and Somerset Counties. The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) assessment showed that these counties qualified for individual assistance. The December storm caused significant flooding and damage to central and western Maine, with an estimated $20 million in damage to public infrastructure. If the federal government approves Maine’s request, the state would receive funding to repair bridges, roads, and other public infrastructure in the affected counties. Governor Mills also mentioned that the hardest hit areas are low-income communities with limited access to skilled contractors and housing, making it difficult for individuals to recover. If damage from recent storms exceeds Maine’s ability to recover, Mills will request another disaster declaration from the federal government. This request comes as the Maine Emergency Management Agency (MEMA) is still evaluating damage from recent coastal storms. Governor Mills wrote a letter to President Joe Biden, stating the need for every available area within the Individual Assistance program to support the impacted individuals and families across the affected counties.

Source link

About YOU:

Your Operating System: Unknown OS

Your IP Address:

Your Browser: N/A

Want your privacy back? Try NordVPN

About Author